Change of Command & R. E. Lee Birthday Celebration

Old Guard of the Gate City Guard’s Robert E. Lee Birthday Celebration and our Change of Command Ceremony

January 14, 2017 at the East Lake Golf Club

Our Guest Speaker was Maj Gen James E. Livingston, USMC (Ret), Medal of Honor Recipient.


Marksmanship Awards presented by LTC R A Barr

  • RD Endicott Trophy for Ladies of The Old Guard who compete in the Pistol and Rifle Matches:
    • Doris Green – HIghest score
    • Pat Gotsch – competitor


  • Elmer L Stanley Pistol Trophy for Ladies of the Old Guard who compete in the Pistol and Rifle matches:
    • Doris Green – Highest score
    • Pat Gotsch – competitor


Champion shooter for 2016 year

  • T Guy Woolford Championship Medal for highest aggregate score in all championship matches
    • Ren Brennan
  • Coley J Lewis Medal for mastery in rapid fire
    • John Dietrichs
  • Dewitt King Cup Course for highest score in slow fire
    • Ren Brennan
  • J E Oxford Pistol Trophy for highest aggregate score in three courses of slow and rapid pistol fire.
    • Ren Brennan

Awards of The Old Guard/2016

Eli White Award

MG (Ret) James Livingston, (Made an Honorary Citizen of Atlanta, GA) Citation to be added


Presented to the incoming President of The Ladies of the Old Guard         Mrs. Marie Glover

The Old Guard Distinguished Service Award

Awarded annually for outstanding

Service and accomplishment to                                                                            MAJ Ross Glover

The Battalion

The Hancock Medal

Awarded annually for unselfish service                                                            COL. John Ottley

to the Old Guard

The Wilkes Trophy

Awarded for the purpose of promoting regular attendance of the members to    COL John E Green

all functions of the command

The Old Guard Staff Award

Awarded for volunteer service

most beneficial to the Command                                                                      LTC David Floyd

The Charles Gavan Trophy

Awarded to the member who has                                                                     MAJ Sam Alston

excelled  in promoting the Historical

Research program of the Command

The Guardsman of the Year Award

Awarded to the member who has demonstrated                                            MAJ Otis Farmer

outstanding loyalty and devotion to the Command

The Commandant’s Guardsman Of the year Award

Awarded to the Past Commandant who has been active

and instrumental in assisting the Commandant in

fulfilling the duties of his office                                                                            COL Den Coleman

The Eubanks Loyalty Medal       

For outstanding loyalty to the Command                                                        COL Robert Leathers 

The Hugh H. Howell Jr. Trophy

Awarded to the member who is responsible for                                                 COL John Green

induction of the largest number of new members

Pvt David W. Brown Award

Awarded to the new member who, after his first

full year of membership is deemed to have served                                        MAJ Steve Marlowe

the Command the most faithfully (Not eligible during year of induction)

The Dr. George Turnbull Pursley Award

Awarded to the Member of the Old Guard who best

commemorates and preserves the virtues of the                                               LTC Jim Johnson (posthumously)